Tram Car 1220 is located near the heart of Steveston Village and offers unique programs and special events throughout the year.
Built in 1912 by the St Louis Car Company, Tram Car 1220 was brought to the Lower Mainland with 27 other cars and contributed to the development of Richmond. The interurbans and the people who worked on them became an important and cherished part of the community.
The trams did not survive the post-war prosperity that led to an explosion in the number of automobiles on the roads and an expansion of new suburbs not serviced by rail. On February 28, 1958, the final interurban tram car rolled the rails between Marpole and Steveston, marking the end of the era of trams in the Richmond community.
As of today, there are only seven BCER operated interurban tram cars left of the many that once ran. Of the 28 original 1200 class tram cars from St Louis, five survive today including Tram Car 1220 in Steveston.
Explore the City of Richmond’s largest artefact & learn about our transportation history. The tram was the connector for fishers and cannery workers between rural Steveston and the City of Vancouver.