Built in 1853 by local craftsmen and shipbuilders, to guide sailing vessels into the Three Rivers Watershed consisting of the Montague, Cardigan and Brudenell Rivers. This heritage lighthouse sits on a. point of land at the end of the Panmure Island Causeway, just past one of PEI’s most popular beaches.
The lighthouse and property was divested in 2015 to a local, non profit, community group although the light itself is still maintained by the Canadian Dept. of Fisheries and Oceans.
A giftshop on the main floor provides most of the revenue for the non-profit group to restore and maintain the lighthouse and grounds. The 2nd, 3rd, and 4th floors contain a museum dedicated to lighthouse artifacts.
Visitors can climb into the lantern and enjoy the spectacular views or there is a “virtual tour” available on the 2nd floor, featuring camera footage of all 4 floor plus the lantern, and outdoor drone footage of the property and views.
The original foundation of the Fog Alarm Building is now a wooden deck and shade structure with picnic tables for visitors to enjoy the views. There is wheelchair access to the main floor only and limited washroom facilities