The Municipal Heritage elevator in Val Marie was built in 1927 and stands at the top of Centre Street. When it was constructed, it was one of a proud army of approximately 3,300 elevators in Saskatchewan.
In 2010, the number of crib-style wooden elevators left in Saskatchewan was barely a handful. Led by local resident Maurice Lemire, whose father was Val Marie’s first elevator agent, the Heritage, Culture and Youth Elevator Committee of Val Marie decided not to let our elevator follow the rest of its kind as time and neglect work their destruction.
Come and visit the elevator today – take a look inside, see where the tracks ended for the train, and step inside the office to explore the artifacts of agriculture on the Prairies. Visitors are encouraged to take in the Farmer’s Market & Craft Sale that occurs at the foot of the elevator the first Saturday of every month (June-September). Guided Tours available upon request.