The Toburn Gold Mine was originally founded in 1912 as the Tough-Oakes Gold Mine and was the first mine that began production on the “Mile of Gold” in Kirkland Lake. While the mine is no longer operational, many of the original buildings remain on the mine site even after its closure in 1953. Self-guided tours include historical and educational displays that highlight the rich mining history of Kirkland Lake.
The self-guided tour brochure is available onsite and describes the contents of the buildings as well as the history and geology of the mine. Several outdoor displays including mining equipment, plaques and sculptures, as well as large rock specimens, have been installed on the grounds.
A motion-activated video show describes the history of the mine and the Kirkland Lake area. There is a picnic area on the grounds and a wooded area showcasing some of the local flora and fauna.
Guided tours are available upon request and can be arranged through the Toburn Gold Mine website.