The Old Post Office was designed in 1902 by David Ewart, Chief Architect of the Federal Department of Public Works. Its Victorian Classical style is typical of federal architecture at the turn of the 20th century. No longer a post office, it is now the home of the Sault. Ste. Marie Museum.
The Sault Ste. Marie Museum, located in the heart of downtown, houses a fascinating collection of historical exhibits that helps visitors learn about the history of the city all the way back to its earliest days. The Sault Ste. Marie Museum is a heritage building constructed originally as a post office between 1902-1906 after the city received $20,000 in funding from the Dominion Government. Like many buildings in Sault Ste. Marie it used sandstone excavated during the construction of the canal, with the iconic clock tower being added in 1912. At this point the Museum, then the Post Office was the largest and grandest building in the City and became a local landmark, being the first sight of the city for approaching travelers.
“The Sault Ste. Marie and 49th Field Regiment Historical Society exists to collect, preserve, study and exhibit artifacts and archival materials which illustrate history of the people and the development of Sault Ste. Marie and immediate surrounding area, and to foster a better understanding of our local heritage and the ways in which local history relates to provincial and national history.”