The J.B. Fletcher Store, built in 1896, is a unique piece of BC history. Although there are other towns where commercial buildings from the1890’s have survived, there are only a handful with unaltered interiors. All of the furnishings and fixtures and many of the artifacts in the store are from its years of operation.
Although it was built and owned by Henry Giegerich until the late 20’s, J.B. Fletcher managed the store from 1913 on and eventually purchased and operated it until 1972. He was fondly know as Pop Fletcher to those who frequented the mercantile. For 60 years, the Fletcher family kept the store open for the surrounding communities. 10 years after it closed, his daughter created the non profit J.B. Fletcher Restoration Society. The Society still owns and operates the museum. The building underwent a massive restoration from 2017-2020 and has been given new life.