Hillcrest Museum is a designated Heritage Site. It was built in 1910 by Fred Sowden, the son of the founder of Souris, MB, as a wedding present for his wife Maude, its structure is reminiscent of the castles in England.
Hillcrest Museum offers a snap-shot in time, stepping through the doors visitors experience what living in the 1900’s was like. Visitors will have the opportunity to learn about the history of the area.
Hillcrest Museum houses artifacts from 1880 through to 1930 and features a collection of 5000 preserved butterflies.
On the grounds of Hillcrest is also an Agricultural Museum and caboose.
Hillcrest Museum is situated next to Souris’ iconic Swinging Bridge, the original one being built by Squire William Sowden, founder of Plum Creek, now Souris.