Designed and built by W.C. Harris in 1877 for James and Edith Peake, Beaconsfield was one of Charlottetown’s most elegant homes. Featuring the finest in materials and craftsmanship, it was also equipped with all the latest conveniences of the day. The Peakes, unfortunately, were destined to enjoy Beaconsfield for a very short time – a time filled with triumphs and tragedies.
Henry Cundall, the second owner, moved into Beaconsfield in 1883 with his sisters Penelope and Millicent. After his death in 1916, the house was used as a young ladies’ residence, and later, the “Cundall Home” became a residence for student nurses.
Today, Beaconsfield Historic House stands as a beautiful example of Victorian architecture with many original features and a fascinating story to tell! It’s open year-round for tours and hosts lectures, concerts, and other special events in the Carriage House. Visit our gift shop featuring Island books, magazines, pottery and prints.