The Backstory to Exclusion: A conversation between curator Catherine Clement and Dr. Henry Yu, UBC History - Historic Places Days

The Backstory to Exclusion: A conversation between curator Catherine Clement and Dr. Henry Yu, UBC History

卡城華埠 Calgary Chinatown
Type
Virtual
Address
200 Centre Street South, Calgary, AB, Canada
Get directions
When
26 June, 2023 | 6:00 pm to 8:00 pm MT

Tune in live on YouTube or Facebook

Want to understand the backstory to the 1923 Chinese Exclusion Act?

The long-awaited exhibition “The Paper Trail to the 1923 Chinese Exclusion Act,” will open July 1, 2023 marking the 100th anniversary of this dark but largely forgotten period in Canadian history. This national exhibition is an unflinching look at the quarter-century of exclusion (1923-1947). The show will reveal stories and objects uncovered through interviews and extensive research: stories of loss, despair and fear, as well as powerful examples of courage and perseverance.

Since the exhibition focuses heavily on the exclusion period, we wanted to offer you an opportunity to learn more about the backstory to this unique chapter in Canadian history.

What led Canada to design such a drastic and unprecedented law? Why were Chinese singled out from all other migrant groups, including other Asians? How did circumstances, world events and the U.S. shape the thinking of Canadian lawmakers? What propelled these ideas to grow, and how did other Canadians react? Finally, why did exclusion create such an enormous paper trail?

Join us for a special, live online event.

The Backstory to Exclusion:
A conversation between curator Catherine Clement and Dr. Henry Yu, UBC History

Monday, June 26

5:00 p.m. Pacific time
6:00 p.m. Mountain
7:00 p.m. Central
8:00 p.m. Eastern
9:00 p.m. Atlantic
9:30 p.m. Newfoundland

Here is your opportunity to better understand what shaped this momentous period and get a glimpse into what your ancestors were hearing and experiencing as the doors to Canada began to close.

The Backstory to Exclusion: A conversation between curator Catherine Clement and Dr. Henry Yu, UBC History

Register A Place

Create an account to add your historic place.

Make a VisitList

Welcome! To get started on a VisitList, you’ll need to have an account with #HistoricPlacesDays.


Already have an account? to sign in.
We use your contact information to process your registration and correspond with you about the National Trust and its programs. You can unsubscribe at any time. We care about your privacy. Read our privacy statement.

Sign In

Sites that participate in #HistoricPlacesDays need to have an account.

Welcome! To get started on a new VisitList or to edit an existing one, you’ll need to have an account with #HistoricPlacesDays. Sign in below!


Not registered? Click here to create an account.

Forgot Password

Enter your email address to request a password reset.


to sign in.

Get the latest scoop on everything #HistoricPlacesDays – join our e-newsletter and never miss a beat.