The ‘Quiet Garden’ of The Church of St. Andrew’s and St. Paul’s, Montreal
The Quiet Garden
A place of ‘prayer and meditation’, the ‘Quiet Garden’ of St. Andrew’s and St. Paul’s in the ‘Quartier du Musée’, offers visitors a visit full of inspiration.
Located between the Church and the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, we find the ‘Quiet Garden’ of St. Andrew’s and St. Paul’s which opened in 2003 as a ‘bicentennial project’.
During the summer, it is a site for Bible Study and post-service receptions.
The Church of St. Andrew’s welcomes visitors, hoping that they will in a reflective journey, find solace, serenity and peace in the Garden.
The garden is open the public in the Summer months between June – September.
The first Presbyterian service in Montreal was held in 1787.
In 1803, St. Andrew’s Church was founded near the present site of city hall on Notre Dame Street. St. Paul’s Church was opened nearby in 1843.
By 1918, the two congregations decided to unite and the present building was erected in 1931-32.
The former St. Paul’s church was dismantled and reconstructed just south of the present site of Vanier College in Ville St-Laurent, where it now serves as a museum.