The Carter House was built by Frances Newman Perkins, a Loyalist from Connecticut, for his son Robert Perkins. The house was eventually passed down to Perkins’ daughter Phoebe and her husband William Pywell, a substantial landholder, innkeeper and lumberman who immigrated to New Brunswick in 1817 from England.
In 1855, Pywell sold the house to William A. Carter, a shoemaker. Carter and his wife Mary Jones raised a family of ten children in this home, one of whom, William S. Carter, would later become a prominent figure in his community, and the Chief Superintendent of Education for the province of New Brunswick. It is for him that the Carter House is named.
In 1964, Peninsula Heritage Inc. purchased Carter House with the intention of preserving and maintaining it for future generations. Since that time it has served not only as an interesting and leisurely stop for travellers and a gathering place for locals, but also a source of summer employment, allowing local students to work close to home and gain valuable experience and knowledge about their community.
Drop by between 11am and 3pm to have a unique tea experience! Enjoy a hot pot of tea, served in china cups, and try out the various sandwiches, soups, salads and dainty desserts prepared by our staff daily. Tours of the house are provided, or you may explore our museum and library located upstairs in this quaint cottage.