In this walking tour, explore the surviving built environment of the original 10 blocks of Toronto and discover how the Town of York, which started with a population of a couple hundred residents, became the City of Toronto in 1834, with a population of just under 10,000.
This tour is the third of four in our Annual Summer Walking Tour Series. All tours start on the steps of St. James Cathedral (facing King Street East) and end at Toronto’s First Post Office. Tours run rain or shine, and may cover rough ground, so please dress accordingly. All ages are welcome. Dogs are also welcome as we walk, though portions of some tours may include areas where they are restricted.