Nestled in the heart of Manotick village, Watson’s Mill shares a remarkable past rooted in Canadian history and industrial ingenuity. Built in 1860 along the banks of the Rideau River, Watson’s Mill remains active as a working water powered flour mill.
Built in the 1860, Watson’s Mill is a working flour mill and museum which celebrates Manotick and its history. Besides the ingenuity and history, the mill preserves, it also holds a tragic story. Ann Crosby Currier was the young bride to Joseph Currier, part owner of Watson’s Mill. The couple were touring the mill when Ann’s skirt caught in a revolving drive shaft, causing a fatal accident. Since then, it has been rumoured that her ghost haunts the mill. Her ghost is claimed to stare out of windows and be seen coming down the attic stairs. There are also rumours of hearing footsteps and being touched when alone on the stairs.